The Censortors…

When Ankh Infinitus and I finished drawing Divided We Stand

A satirical image of the two parties lynch mobbing each other and, in turn, holding the Capitol up

I had the idea to send a copy to every member of the United States Congress.  I don’t know about doing the House because the Senate was time consuming enough, but one thing I noticed as I began is that most of the senators had a Facebook page.  Because this image exists most prominently on Facebook, I decided that, if they had that, I’d use that.

However, there was a problem.  A list of senators that deleted the post, or didn’t allow posts to be made, quickly grew.  These are the senators that are especially dirty.  They silence dissent because they know you’d never vote for them if you knew what they were really up to.  Furthermore, considering the message of Divided We Stand, any senator that disagrees with it is a huge part of the problem.  So, as a result, I have kept track of every specific senator who has deleted my post, or not allowed it to be posted in the first place, and will post all of their names specifically in my list of censortors.  If any of these senators represent your state, please be sure to let them know how displeased you are in their disservice to your state.  Let them know how you’re not only sick of the partisan bickering, but also of the censorship of posts that point out the partisan bickering.

Unless otherwise specified, I posted the picture on their Facebook wall or the comments of an existing post, and it was either deleted or held for moderation and never posted.  In no circumstances do I ever hold it against a senator for not having a Facebook, but I do hold it against them for having one and keeping it locked from comments.

US Censortors:

Richard Shelby (R AL)

Mark Begich (D AK)

Lisa Murkowski (R AK)

Jon Boozman (R AZ)

Jon Kyl (R AZ)

Barbara Boxer (D CA)

Dianne Feinstein (D CA)

Mark Udall (D CO)

Richard Blumenthal (D CT)

Christopher Coons (D DE)

Bill Nelson (D FL)

Marco Rubio (R FL)

Saxby Chambliss (R GA) – Just doesn’t allow posts on his wall. Also, he just looks like an asshole.

Johnny Isakson (R GA)

Daniel Inouye (D HI) – Just doesn’t allow posts on his wall

Daniel Akaka (D HI)

Richard Durbin (D IL)

Tom Harkin (D IA)

Jerry Moran (R KS)

Olympia Snowe (R ME)

Scott Brown (R MA)

Debbie Stabenow (D MI)

Thad Cochran (R MS)

Roger Wicker (R MS)

Clair McCaskill (D MO)

Dean Heller (R NV)

Frank Lautenberg (D NJ)

Tom Udall (D NM)

Kirstin Gillibrand (D NY)

Chuck Schumer (D NY)

Kay Hagen (D NC)

John Hoeven (R ND)

Tom Coburn (R OK)

James Inhofe (R OK) – Several public pages, but no messages allowed on any of them

Jeff Merkley (D OR)

Ron Wyden (D OR)

Patrick Toomey (R PA)

Sheldon Whitehouse (D RI)

Jim DeMint (R SC)

John Cornyn (R TX)

Orrin Hatch (R UT) – Deleted the post on both Facebook and YouTube

Bernard Sanders (I VT)

Patrick Leahy (D VT)

Mark Warner (D VA)

Maria Cantwell (D WA) – No wall on her Facebook page

Joe Manchin (D WV) – No wall on his Facebook and he godmods Youtube channel comments

Ron Johnson (R WI)

Mike Enzi (R WY)

Now, I know this is a depressingly long list, but I wouldn’t let that get to you.  I do have some good news.  Not only are less than half of senators also censortors, which is pleasantly surprising news, but I have another list, albeit a much shorter one.  These are the senators that went out of their way to allow dissent.  They allowed the posts to be published as direct new posts on their wall, they don’t moderate, and they don’t delete.  They have plenty of dissenting posts on their Facebook walls, many of which are even rude, but they acknowledge that these people are also the ones who sign their paycheques, so they allow….  Nay.  Prefer dissent.  If one of these people are your senator, please send them a thank you for listening to their people, even when it isn’t very nice.

The Few, The Good Senators:

Rand Paul (L KY) – They list him as R, but I changed it to what he really is

John Kerry (D MA)

Kelly Ayotte (R NH)

Kay Bailey Hucthison (R TX)

Herb Kohl (D WI)

John Barrasso (R WY)

The list may be considerably shorter, but look on the bright side.  These people exist.  Now, I’m not making any claims that they’re good senators.  Just that they not only don’t censor dissent, but actually prefer it.  For example, Rand Paul’s Facebook page is so full of insults, you’d have to dig to find a compliment.  It doesn’t make them good per se, but it makes them better.  So, if any of these are your senators, please let them know.  And, if any of the first list are your senators, then please boot them out.  Don’t wait for election day.  Fire them today.

Write a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Shortcuts & Links


Latest Posts